D1 champions Kettle Moraine.jpg

Kettle Moraine, which won the 2018 WIAA Division 1 state championship, will switch sectionals in 2019.

Two of the top four teams at the 2018 WIAA Division 1 state tournament — eventual state champion Kettle Moraine and Brookfield Central — came from the same sectional and that statistic may not change in 2019, even though the Lasers will try to defend their state title via a different tournament trail.

The WIAA has moved the Lasers to the Lake Geneva Badger sectional in its 2019 tournament assignments, which were released Monday as part of a redesign of the WIAA Website. Much like the boys golf tournament assignments this spring, WIAA assistant director Tom Shafranski took advantage of changes in administrative duties on the WIAA staff in the past year to make significant changes in the girls assignments. 

Kettle Moraine, Mukwonago and East Troy, a Division 2 team in the 2018 tournament, were moved into what was the Lake Geneva Badger sectional (and does not yet have a host school for the 2019 tournament) while Fort Atkinson and Jefferson were moved to the DeForest sectional. The Brookfield Central sectional field that Kettle Moraine exited won't get any easier this fall with the arrival of Hartland Arrowhead — the Division 1 state champion in 2016 and 2017 — from the Oshkosh West sectional along with Sussex Hamilton, Oconomowoc and Watertown.

There were also some noteworthy changes to the 2019 tournament assignments based schools adding girls golf. 

Four schools moved from Division 2 to Division 1: Appleton Fox Valley Lutheran, East Troy, Luxemburg-Casco and Marinette. Fox Valley Lutheran has made nine WIAA state tournament appearances, all in Division 2, with runner-up finishes in 2013 and 2014. Luxemburg-Casco qualified for the Division 2 state tournament for the first time in 2018.

There are five new schools in the WIAA tournament field (all in Division 2): Grantsburg, Nekoosa, Kiel, Sturgeon Bay and Winneconne. There are three schools offering girls golf as part of cooperative programs: Wayland Academy (with Beaver Dam) and Williams Bay (with Lake Geneva Badger) in Division 1 and Independence (with Arcadia) in Division 2.

Here is a sectional-by-sectional breakdown of changes to the tournament assignments:

Division 1

Sectional 1 (Stevens Point)

Westby/Viroqua moves here from the DeForest sectional and Chippewa Falls/McDonell Central switches regionals within this sectional.

Sectional 2 (Green Bay Notre Dame)

Fox Valley Lutheran and Luxemburg-Casco move here from Division 2 into the Luxemburg-Casco regional; Marinette moves from Division 2 into the Bay Port regional.

Sectional 3 (Oshkosh West)

Menomonee Falls and Glendale Nicolet move here from the Brookfield Central sectional into the Hartford regional along with Beaver Dam/Wayland Academy and West Bend East/West, which switch regionals in this sectional. Appleton East and Kaukauna move from the Green Bay Notre Dame sectional into the Fond du Lac regional.

Sectional 4 (DeForest)

Fort Atkinson and Jefferson move from Sectional 5 into an unassigned regional in the DeForest sectional along with Madison Memorial, which switches regionals in this sectional. Middleton, Monona Grove and Sun Prairie switch regionals in this sectional, moving into the Baraboo regional.

Sectional 5 (Host needed)

Kettle Moraine and Mukwonago move here from the Brookfield Central sectional along with East Troy, which competed in Division 2 in 2018 and also moves into the Mukwonago regional. Burlington joins an unassigned regional in this sectional after competing in what is now the Mukwonago regional a year ago.

Sectional 6 (Brookfield Central)

Hartland Arrowhead, Sussex Hamilton and Watertown move here from the Oshkosh West sectional, joining the Waukesha South regional. Franklin and Oak Creek switch regionals in this sectional, joining an unassigned regional.

Division 2

Sectional 1 (Baldwin-Woodville)

Ellsworth and Prescott move here from the Prairie du Chien sectional, joining the Somerset regional. Grantsburg adds the sport and joins the Luck co-op regional with Barron, which switches regionals in this sectional.

Sectional 2 (Prairie du Chien)

Colfax and Stanley-Boyd move here from the Baldwin-Woodville sectional, joining the Arcadia regional. Cambridge moves here from Sectional 3 and joins the Madison Edgewood regional with Nekoosa, which adds the sport.

Sectional 3 (Host needed)

Clinton and Beloit Turner move here from the Prairie du Chien sectional and join the Racine St. Catherine's regional with Kiel and Winneconne, which add the sport. Sturgeon Bay adds the sport and joins the Little Chute regional with Denmark, which switches regionals in this sectional.


Rob started covering the Wisconsin golf scene in 1987 at the Wisconsin State Journal in Madison & has been the only reporter covering all levels of state golf. He joined Killarney Golf Media in Sept. 2015 & helped launch Wisconsin.Golf in Jan. 2016.