D1 - Rachel Kauflin, Wauwatosa East/West

Rachel Kauflin, Wauwatosa East/West

Division 1

Brookfield Central sectional

When, where: 9 a.m. Monday at Wanaki GC-Menomonee Falls.

Teams: Hartland Arrowhead, Brookfield Central, Brookfield East, Franklin, Oconomowoc, Watertown, Waukesha Catholic Memorial, Wauwatosa East/West.

Individuals: Amanda Karvala, New Berlin Eisenhower/West; Leah Minchk, Muskego; Lily Valimont, Whitefish Bay; Lauren Moran, Pewaukee; Ellie Behring, Oak Creek; Sophia Schoenfeld, Waterford; Anna Cesarz, Milwaukee Divine Savior Holy Angels; Natalie Schneider, Waukesha co-op.

2018 story:  Junior Julia Schilling and freshman Madeline Fiebig shot 79s as Kettle Moraine packed all five golfers within four shots of one another in shooting 320 and winning the WIAA Division 1 Waukesha South sectional by two shots over Brookfield Central. The Lancers (322) grabbed the second state tournament berth by six shots over Brookfield East. Wauwatosa East/West's Rachel Kauflin (72) topped Franklin's Mallory Swartz (75) by three shots for medalist honors. They joined Waukesha Catholic Memorial's Meredith Boos (77) in qualifying for the state tournament individually.

2019 skinny:  Defending state champion Kettle Moraine has been shipped to a sectional it will host Tuesday, but even the WIAA's best efforts to spread out the Milwaukee area's immense girls golf talent will send some accomplished individuals, if not teams, home unhappy. Brookfield Central and Waukesha Catholic Memorial were runaway winners at the regional level and, if they continue that trend Monday at Wanaki GC, that would leave the likes of Wauwatosa East/West's Rachel Kauflin, Franklin's Mallory Swartz, Oconomowoc's Grace Suter, Hartland Arrowhead's Ellie Kaiser — all top-30 finishers at the WIAA Division 1 state tournament — to battle Southeast Conference champion Ellie Behring of Oak Creek and Woodland Conference champion Amanda Karvala of New Berlin Eisenhower/West for the three individual state tournament berths. Kauflin finished third at the WIAA Division 1 state tournament a year ago while Swartz was sixth and Suter tied for 20th. 

Projected state team qualifiers: Brookfield Central, Waukesha Catholic Memorial.

Projected state individual qualifiers: Rachel Kauflin, Wauwatosa East/West; Mallory Swartz, Franklin; Grace Suter, Oconomowoc.

Oshkosh West sectional

When, where: 8:30 a.m. Monday at Lake Breeze GC-Winneconne.

Teams: Cedarburg, Hartford, Kaukauna, Kewaskum/Campbellsport, Kimberly, Menomonee Falls, Mequon Homestead, Sheboygan North/South.

Individuals: Hailee Brunk, Oshkosh North; Sophia Packman, Glendale Nicolet; Hailey Matenaer, West Bend West/East; Taylor Rammer, Oshkosh North; Maisey Wilhelms, Fond du Lac; Samantha Pendowski, Slinger; Grace Miller, Oshkosh North; Isa Pierri, Glendale Nicolet.

2018 story: University of Wisconsin-bound senior Emily Lauterbach of Hartland Arrowhead (75) outdueled UW-Stout-bound Kendra Swanson (77) for medalist honors as the Warhawks (325) topped Cedarburg (349) for the team title. Swanson joined Oconomowoc's Grace Suter and West Bend West/East's Lauren Craig in securing the three individual state tournament berths.

2019 skinny: Hartland Arrowhead will not cast its shadow on this sectional in 2019 after being moved to the Brookfield Central sectional. That opens the door for North Shore Conference champion Cedarburg and Sheboygan/North South, the fourth-place finisher in the ultra-competitive Fox River Classic Conference, to duke it out in a sectional where those two programs were the only ones to shoot below 380 at the regional level. Individually, things are equally as wide open. A year ago, two scores of 100 or higher made it through to the state tournament, but that bar promises to be a little more rigid this time.

Projected state team qualifiers: Cedarburg, Sheboygan North/South.

Projected state individual qualifiers: Sophie Christianson, Hartford; Madeline Kiley, Kimberly; Alyssa Dreher, Kewaskum/Campbellsport.

Division 2

Appleton Xavier sectional

When, where: 9 a.m. Monday at Ridgeway CC-Neenah.

Teams: Appleton Xavier, Denmark, Kettle Moraine Lutheran, Lakeside Lutheran, Racine Prairie School, Sturgeon Bay, Winneconne, Wrightstown.

Individuals: Karsen Hammen, Little Chute; Rebecca Schildgen, Beloit Turner; Kennedy Casper, Freedom; Kendall Peterson, Beloit Turner; Kaylee Sadowski, Oconto Falls; Olivia Moriarity, Racine St. Catherine's; Callie Berg, Freedom; Taylor Peterson, Clinton.

2018 story:  Eventual state champion CLair Phakamad shot 82 as Appleton Xavier (372) turned back Luxemburg-Casco (394) to win the WIAA Division 2 Appleton Xavier sectional at Ridgeway CC in Neenah. Lakeside Lutheran's Maya Heckmann (87), Milwaukee St. Thomas More's Katie Gerschke (87) and Fox Valley Lutheran's Liz Santos (95) earned the three state individual berths — Santos punching her ticket to University Ridge by three shots over Freedom freshman Callie Berg.

2019 skinny:  Appleton Xavier was the only school in this sectional to break 400 at the regional level and the Hawks' Lauren Haen was the only golfer to break 80 and one of only two to break 90 (the other being Maya Heckmann of Lakeside Lutheran). That should make for a wide-open race for the second state team berth and its quite possible the curve for the individual spots could top 100 as well on a tough Ridgeway CC layout in Neenah. Throw in the fact that two of the two four teams in last year's Xavier sectional were moved into Division 1 after last season and this is truly a year of transition in this sectional. 

Projected state team qualifiers: Appleton Xavier, Lakeside Lutheran.

Projected state individual qualifiers: Callie Berg, Freedom; Sophie Lawler, Racine Prairie School; Maddie Maraccini, Racine Prairie School.

More News & Features