Avery Dudra, Silas Pickhardt

Bay Port's Avery Dudra, left, and Madison Memorial's Silas Pickhardt won the girls and boys overall titles Monday at the 2020 Morgan Stanley WPGA Junior Tour Championship at Washington County GC in Hartford.

Avery Dudra and Silas Pickhardt were on the verge of something big heading into the final round of the Morgan Stanley WPGA Junior Tour Championship.

Both crossed that unforgettable line Monday at Washington County Golf Course in Hartford.

Dudra, a rising junior at Bay Port High School who lives in Suamico near Green Bay, and Pickhardt, who will be a senior at Madison Memorial, shot matching 68s and emerged as girls and boys champions, respectively, from the invitation-only gathering for winners of 2020 WPGA Junior Tour events. Dudra's round was her lowest in WPGA Junior competition by seven shots; Pickhardt beat by one shot his career-best, which had been 69 a year ago when he won a WPGA Junior Tour event at Cherokee Country Club in Madison.

Dudra, who birdied No. 17 in Sunday's opening round before bad weather forced a suspension in play, parred No. 18 to finish off a 4-over 76. Little did she know that her first sub-70 round was waiting as she overtook runner-up Ava Salay of Prescott (75-73) to win by four shots at even-par 144 with North Dakota State commit Elise Hoven of Grafton (81-73) a distant third, 10 shots off the pace at 154.

"I definitely wasn’t expecting to shoot a 68 (Monday), but the key to that number was my putting," Dudra wrote in a text to Wisconsin.Golf after making six birdies — including three of her last five holes and most on putts between 10 and 15 feet, she said, save a chip-in at No. 16 — to more than offset the two bogeys in her breakthrough round. "From 14 and on, I approached every shot feeling very confident, which was really beneficial to that last stretch."

Pickhardt, meanwhile, bounced back from his lone bogey on No. 2 with birdies at Nos. 4, 8, 12, 13 and 18 to rally from three shots behind first-round leader Bryson Mercier (70-73) and win by two shots with a 3-under 141 total. Fond du Lac's Sam Nielsen (73-75), who signed a National Letter of Intent recently to attend Dominican University (Calif.), finished a distant third at 4-over 148.

"The key to (Monday's) round was my mindset I set for myself," Pickhardt wrote in a text to Wisconsin.Golf after winning for the third time this summer and moving to No. 2 in the WPGA Junior boys player of the year standings.

"When I was standing over the ball, the two things that existed in my head were: the ball and myself. In between shots, I made sure to be myself and continue to have fun, the guys I played with helped me stay grounded, too. They continued to crack jokes throughout the round. The 68 caught me off guard, however. I didn’t wake up thinking I was going to fire my best round of my life (Monday)."

But then he started seeing signs all over the place. 

Pickhardt said he one-putted every hole on the front nine to shoot 1-under 35. He added that he "could feel something click" when he nearly drove the green on No. 10, a 362-yard par-4 that he double-bogeyed during his opening 73.

"It meant a lot to win this event," Pickhardt wrote. "I had been playing really well at the beginning of summer and hit a little bit of a slump the past two weeks so coming out and winning felt event better. I had some family waiting at the 18th green, too, watching me, which is a rare occurrence for people to watch me play, so it made it all the more special to win."

Dudra, who slipped past Bay Port teammate Jo Baranczyk, another North Dakota State commit, and moved into seventh in the WPGA Junior girls player of the year standings, felt her victory validated the work she has put into her game away from competition.

"This win is important to me, because it was the product of hours of work I’ve recently put into my short game," Dudra wrote. "Seeing that hard work come into fruition was very rewarding."

Boys overall

1Silas Pickhardt  2021, Madison, WI-3F-47368141350 
2Bryson Mercier  2022, Powers, MI-1F+17073143300 
3Samuel Nielsen  2020, Fond Du Lac, WI+4F+37375148250 
T4Jiseung Choi  2020, Houghton, MI+5F+37475149187.50 
T4Logan Pechinski  2021, Plover, WI+5F+47376149187.50 
T6Luke Abram  2021, Williams Bay, WI+6F-17971150140 
T6William Schlitz  2024, Eau Claire, WI+6F+17773150140 
T6Aiden Cudney  2024, Appleton, WI+6F+57377150140 
T9Nathan Theama  2021, Cedarburg, WI+7F+47576151115 
T9Quinn Berglin  2020, Pewaukee, WI+7F+67378151115 
11Spencer Lynch  2023, Neenah, WI+8FE8072152100 
T12Ryan Darling  2022, Green Bay, WI+9F+1807315376.40 
T12Alwang Deang  2023, Madison, WI+9F+2797415376.40 
T12Connor Nelson  2021, Waukesha, WI+9F+3787515376.40 
T12Charlie Erlandson  2023, Verona, WI+9F+6757815376.40 
T12Nick Mueller  2023, Baldwin, WI+9F+7747915376.40 
T17Aidan Duchelle  2020, West bend, WI+10F+2807415450 
T17Kaeden Nomm  2022, Minocqua, WI+10F+3797515450 
T17Jakson Jazgar  2022, Green Bay, WI+10F+4787615450 
T17Alex Koenig  2023, Wales, WI+10F+3797515450 
T17Alex Weiss  2023, Middleton, WI+10F+5777715450 
22Brice Klabunde  2020, Cameron, WI+11F-1847115535 
T23Jacob Frederickson  2022, Cottage Grove, WI+12F+2827415625 
T23Tyson Sparks  2024, Muskego, WI+12F+7777915625 
T23Thomas Kriewaldt  2020, Madison, WI+12F+8768015625 
26Samuel Evenson  2021, Holmen, WI+13F+10758215715 
T27William Harned  2024, Nashotah, WI+17F+782791616.67 
T27Maxwell Reis  2022, De Pere, WI+17F+980811616.67 
T27Alec Sosnowski  2022, Verona, WI+17F+1079821616.67 
30Max Breiling  2022, Onalaska, WI+18F+1080821625 
T31Trey Oswald  2022, Beloit, WI+19F+685781633.33 
T31Matthew Paulson  2021, North Prairie, WI+19F+685781633.33 
T31Grant Wieczorek  2022, Pewaukee, WI+19F+1378851633.33 
T34Sam Godager  2023, Madison, WI+23F+118483167  
T34Christian Sobczak  2021, Thiensville, WI+23F+138285167  
36Parker Etzel  2023, Eau Claire+27F+99081171  
T37Ben Hilbelink  2022, Menomonee Falls, WI+28F+118983172  
T37Matthew Mueller  2021, Baldwin, WI+28F+128884172  
39Kaleb Lycke  2021, La Crosse, WI+29F+148786173  

Girls overall

1Avery Dudra  2022, Suamico, WIEF-47668144350 
2Ava Salay  2023, Prescott, WI+4F+17573148300 
3Elise Hoven  2021, Grafton, WI+10F+18173154250 
4Jessica Guiser  2024, Hartland, WI+11F-18471155200 
5Norah Roberts  2023, Racine, WI+12F+67878156175 
6Jenna Anderson  2022, Dousman, WI+13F+58077157150 
7Skye Two Hawks Skenandore  2024, De Pere, WI+14F+58177158140 
8Sarah Balding  2022, Brookfield, WI+15F+107782159130 
9Brighton Young  2021, Loves Park, IL+16F+68278160120 
T10Kallie Lux  2021, Janesville, WI+17F+7827916191 
T10Cassandra Psuik  2023, Greenfield, WI+17F+9808116191 
T10Jolie Guyette  2021, De Pere, WI+17F+3867516191 
T10Treva Dodd  2024, Brookfield, WI+17F+6837816191 
T10Glenna Sanderson  2021, Middleton, WI+17F+8818016191 
T15Madison Haugen  2024, Brookfield, WI+19F+8838016367.50 
T15Hannah Dunk  2023, Janesville, WI+19F+9828116367.50 
17Lauren Peterson  2022, Hartland, WI+21F+12818416560 
T18Amanda Karvala  2021, New Berlin, WI+23F+10858216752.50 
T18Madeline Fiebig  2022, Waukesha, WI+23F+14818616752.50 
20Ashleyjen Powell  2023, Appleton, WI+24F+10868216845 
T21Adalyn Johnston  2024, Green Bay, WI+31F+14898617537.50 
T21McKenna Nelson  2027, Beaver Dam, WI+31F+19849117537.50 
23Belle Kongshaug  2026, Elk Mound, WI+35F+12958417930 
24Nora Purtell  2022, Brookfield, WI+40F+22909418425 

More from this Section