Jerry Kelly, Steve Stricker

Madison's Jerry Kelly, left, and Steve Stricker will open the 2019 golf season at the Sony Open in Hawaii.

Jerry Kelly and Steve Stricker will begin the golf season Thursday in Hawaii.

The Madison golfers were among the 140 golfers in the 144-man field announced Friday for the Sony Open in Hawaii, the first full-field event of the 2018-19 PGA Tour wrap-around schedule. Golfers had until Friday at 5 p.m. HDT to commit.

Kelly, 52, the 2002 Sony Open champion, is playing on a sponsor's exemption. He tied for 14th at the Sony Open a year ago (his 10th top-15 finish in the event since his victory), one week before opening the PGA Tour Champions season with his only victory of 2018 at the Mitsubishi Electric Championship at Hualalai.

For Stricker, 51, who is using a one-time career money exemption to play more on the PGA Tour in 2019, this is only his second Sony Open start since 2012. Since playing Waialae Country Club in 2016, this is the first time that Stricker has started the season before the Waste Management Phoenix Open in February.

Stricker made 12 starts on the PGA Tour in 2018, posting four top-25 finishes with a season-best tie for 12th the Valspar Championship. He played seven events on the PGA Tour Champions with three victories, two runner-up finishes and a third-place showing. 

Kelly will defend his title next week at Hualalai. Beyond the Sony Open, however, Stricker has only announced that he will play at the AT&T Pebble Beach National Pro-Am, where he will likely pair with regular partner Toby Keith, the country music singer who will perform at the annual Friday night concert during American Family Insurance Championship week at the PGA Tour Champions event Stricker hosts in Madison.

2019 PGA Tour Sony Open in Hawaii: Final Field

Winner - PGA/U.S. Open Championship Top 125 on Prior Season's FedExCup Points List
Jordan Spieth Emiliano Grillo
Justin Thomas Chez Reavie
Jimmy Walker Jason Kokrak
Winner - THE PLAYERS Championship Brian Gay
Si Woo Kim Abraham Ancer
Winner - The Masters Chris Kirk
Patrick Reed Keith Mitchell
Bubba Watson Whee Kim
Winner - The Open Championship Stewart Cink
Zach Johnson Joel Dahmen
Winner - World Golf Championship Event James Hahn
Russell Knox Jamie Lovemark
Hideki Matsuyama Brian Stuard
Adam Scott Kelly Kraft
Winners of the Arnold Palmer Invitational (Last 3 Years ) Tom Hoge
Bryson DeChambeau Danny Lee
Jason Dufner Ollie Schniederjans
Marc Leishman Anirban Lahiri
Tournament Winner in Past Two Seasons Sam Ryder
Ryan Armour Trey Mullinax
Jonas Blixt Brandon Harkins
Keegan Bradley Patrick Rodgers
Paul Casey Sean O'Hair
Cameron Champ Rory Sabbatini
Brice Garnett Sung Kang
Adam Hadwin John Huh
Brian Harman Tyler Duncan
Russell Henley Seamus Power
Charles Howell III J.T. Poston
Mackenzie Hughes Vaughn Taylor
Michael Kim Sam Saunders
Kevin Kisner Ryan Blaum
Patton Kizzire Scott Brown
Satoshi Kodaira Nick Taylor
Matt Kuchar Harris English
Andrew Landry Major Medical Extension
Troy Merritt Luke Donald
Grayson Murray Ben Martin
Kevin Na Sangmoon Bae
Pat Perez Jim Herman
Scott Piercy Colt Knost
Ted Potter, Jr. Dominic Bozzelli
Ian Poulter Steve Marino
Andrew Putnam Leading Money Winner from Tour & Tour Finals
Cameron Smith Sungjae Im
Brandt Snedeker Top Finishers from Tour Prior Season (reordered)
Kyle Stanley Robert Streb
Hudson Swafford Chase Wright
Kevin Tway Adam Schenk
Gary Woodland Sam Burns
Carlos Ortiz
Career Money Exemption Stephan Jaeger
Kenny Perry Peter Malnati
Steve Stricker Cameron Davis
Sponsors Exemptions - Tour Finals Seth Reeves
Max Homa Jim Knous
Martin Trainer Kramer Hickok
Scott Langley
Sponsors Exemptions - Members not otherwise exempt Julián Etulain
Jerry Kelly Michael Thompson
Johnson Wagner Shawn Stefani
Kyoung-Hoon Lee
Sponsors Exemptions - Unrestricted Kyle Jones
Shugo Imahira Dylan Frittelli
Yuki Inamori Alex Prugh
Peter Jung Wyndham Clark
Takumi Kanaya Hank Lebioda
Adam Svensson
Designated Sponsor Exemption Sebastián Muñoz
Rikuya Hoshino Ben Silverman
Yuta Ikeda José de Jesús Rodríguez
Y.E. Yang Wes Roach
Nicholas Lindheim
PGA Section Champion\Player of the Year Josh Teater
Eric Dugas Sepp Straka
Roger Sloan
Past Champion of Respective Event Matt Jones
Fabián Gómez John Chin
Chris Thompson
Life Member Brady Schnell
Davis Love III Curtis Luck
Vijay Singh J.J. Henry