4 state am Matt Tolan.jpg

Matt Tolan watches his approach shot while competing at the Wisconsin State Amateur.

WSGA 2020 Match Play Championship Selection Show sponsored by TaylorMade.

Former Wisconsin State Amateur champion Matt Tolan, a University of South Dakota golfer from Eau Claire, will be the No. 1 seed for next week's new-look Wisconsin State Golf Association Match-Play Championship

The announcement was made Friday evening via a YouTube video that unveiled the 16 top seeds for the 64-player field and the three other golfers in their pods, who were randomly chosen out of a hat. Those golfers will play each other in a three-round format Monday and Tuesday at The Club at Strawberry Creek in Kenosha with the top golfer from each pod advancing to the knockout round, which begins Wednesday.

University of Toledo golfer Nate Thomson of Greendale, former University of Wisconsin golfer Garrett Jones of Madison, former UW-Green Bay golfer Joe DuChateau of Fond du Lac and Marquette University golfer Tyler Leach of Spring Valley rounded out the top five seeds determined by their position on the 2019 WSGA player-of-the-year points standings.

University of St. Thomas (Minn.) golfer Emmet Herb of Middleton leads Nos. 6 through 10 seeds. Defending champion Ben Shafer of Brookfield (No. 13) and runner-up Jakob Schroeckenthaler of Cottage Grove (No. 15) are both seeded outside of the top 10.

2020 Wisconsin State Men's Match-Play Championship: Top 16 seeds, pool-play assigments

Seed Name Others in pool
1 Matt Tolan, Eau Claire Drew Madelung, Wauwatosa; Simon Cuskey, Rice Lake; Jimmy Morton, Sugar Grove, Ill.
2 Nate Thomson, Greendale Jonathon Oaks, Waukesha; Austin Erickson, Sparta; Ryan Prickette, Hartford
3 Garrett Jones, Madison Adam McDonald, Waukesha; Sullivan Schrandt, Cambria; Michael Bastian, Milwaukee
4 Joe DuChateau, Fond du Lac Ethan Wilkins, Sussex; Bradley Goldstein, Highland Park, Ill.; Chadd Slutzky, Deer Park, Ill.
5 Tyler Leach, Spring Valley George Botts, Madison; Steven Sanicki, Menomonee Falls; Zach Dybul, Big Bend
6 Emmet Herb, Middleton Lukas Heckmann, Middleton; Derek Finstadt, Kaukauna; Tom Chambers, Union Grove
7 Kevin Cahill, Waukesha Cole Stark, Eau Claire; Zach Place, Roselle, Ill.; Kevin O'Regan, Northbrook, Ill.
8 Phillip Johnson, Colgate Michael Mattas, Streamwood, Ill.; Jack Paeglow, DeKalb, Ill.; Brock Hlinak, Kaukauna
9 Pete Kuhl, Madison Keith Lange, Richland Center; Daniel Ozga, Edgerton; James Gonsalus, Brookfield
10 Travis Engle, Kenosha Nathan Joy, Franklin; Jack Anderson, Brookfield; Jim Walkley, Onalaska
11 Joe Weber, Onalaska Brian Klein, Sussex; Drew Sagrillo, Mequon; Andrew Price, Lake Bluff, Ill.
12 Kevin Van Rossum, Hartland Benjamin Bobinski, Suamico; Maxwell Schmidtke, Sheboygan; Isaac Heckmann, Middleton
13 Benjamin Shafer, Brookfield Blake Wisdom, Lake Geneva; Andrew Sharafinski, Greendale; Ryonen Faris, Fond du Lac
14 Christopher Colla, Fond du Lac Adam Miller, Nekoosa; Connor Polender, Lake Bluff, Ill.; Jack Blair, Wauwatosa
15 Jakob Schroeckenthaler, Cottage Grove Jack McKinney, Milwaukee; Ricky Kuiper, Racine; Jack Lundsten, Milwaukee
16 Matt Polivka, Muskego Todd Schaap, Kenosha; Rocky Sperka, New Berlin; Eli Myers, Northbrook, Ill.

More from this Section