Syd Wells - '19 WSGA match play.jpg

Syd Wells.

NEKOOSA — Between them, Syd Wells and Maggie Leef have won eight of the last nine WSGA State Senior Women's Amateur Championship titles.

After Sunday's showing, it looks like one of them will make it nine out of the last 10 for the dominant duo among the state's senior women.

Wells, a five-time champion from Menominee, Mich., shot a 7-over-par 79 on the Lakes Course at Lake Arrowhead Golf Club and took a one-stroke lead over Leef, who ended Wells' four-year reign when she won a year ago. They will be the ones to beat when they begin the final round Monday at 8:52 a.m.

Pat Roisum of Deerfield, whose 2014 victory made her the only golfer other than Wells or Leef to win the event since 2010, overcame an opening triple-bogey with two birdies and shot 82. She was tied for third with Carrie Sperling of Madison, who had three birdies over her last six holes to earn a spot in the final group.

Former Indiana University golfer Sarah DeKraay of Madison, a two-time Wisconsin Women's State Amateur champion, shot 83 and was tied for fifth with Katie Culver of Markesan. Pat Rogers of Nekoosa and Amy Gehrke of Muskego were next at 84 while Peg Carlson of Madison and Jill Trider of Green Bay rounded out the top 10 in the 46-player field. 

After a bogey-bogey start, Wells parred six of her last seven holes on the front nine to turn in 39. She double-bogeyed No. 10, but played her next three holes in 1-under before a run of three straight bogeys dropped her back.

1-Syd Wells [LA]  Menominee, MI+7F+779 79 
2-Maggie Leef [LA]  Pewaukee, WI+8F+880 80 
T3-Pat Roisum [LA]  Deerfield, WI+10F+1082 82 
T3-Carrie Sperling [LA]  Madison, WI+10F+1082 82 
T5-Sarah Dekraay [LA]  Madison, WI+11F+1183 83 
T5-Katie Culver [LA]  Markesan, WI+11F+1183 83 
T7-Pat Rogers [LA]  Nekoosa, WI+12F+1284 84 
T7-Amy Gehrke [LA]  Muskego, WI+12F+1284 84 
T9-Jill Trider [LA]  Green Bay, WI+13F+1385 85 
T9-Peg Carlson [LA]  Madison, WI+13F+1385 85 
11-Katie Falk [LA]  Milwaukee, WI+15F+1587 87 
T12-Susan Lee Kolbe [LA]  Mequon, WI+16F+1688 88 
T12-Kristin Smith [LA]  Milwaukee, WI+16F+1688 88 
T14-Sue Wassenberg [LA]  Milwaukee, WI+19F+1991 91 
T14-Sandy Nass [LA]  Elkhorn, WI+19F+1991 91 
T14-Christine Korjenek [LA]  Mequon, WI+19F+1991 91 
T14-Jeanne Whitish [LA]  Waunakee, WI+19F+1991 91 
18-Ann Bonner [LA]  Platteville, WI+20F+2092 92 
T19-Susan Crowson [LA]  Madison, WI+21F+2193 93 
T19-Chris Mortensen [LA]  Glendale, WI+21F+2193 93 
T21-Kelly Steen [LA]  Luck, WI+22F+2294 94 
T21-Deb Toll [LA]  Appleton, WI+22F+2294 94 
T21-Lori Stevens [LA]  Luck, WI+22F+2294 94 
T21-Karen Weiss [LA]  Racine, WI+22F+2294 94 
T25-Karen Schmid [LA]  Waukesha, WI+23F+2395 95 
T25-Teckla Kubiak [LA]  Greenfield, WI+23F+2395 95 
T25-Tam Flarup [LA]  Madison, WI+23F+2395 95 
T28-Lina Cicero [LA]  Milwaukee, WI+25F+2597 97 
T28-Dawn Thiel [LA]  Appleton, WI+25F+2597 97 
T28-Pam Klatt [LA]  Luck, WI+25F+2597 97 
T28-Patty West [LA]  Kaukauna, WI+25F+2597 97 
T32-Rita Cooney [LA]  Colgate, WI+27F+2799 99 
T32-Pat Kraft [LA]  Hartland, WI+27F+2799 99 
T34-Julie O'Connor [LA]  Oconomowoc+28F+28100 100 
T34-Jane Kohl [LA]  Waukesha, WI+28F+28100 100 
T34-Sandra Latham [LA]  McFarland, WI+28F+28100 100 
37-Connie Hillmann [LA]  Germantown, WI+29F+29101 101 
38-Kathy Algiers [LA]  Appleton, WI+30F+30102 102 
39-Wendy Proctor [LA]  Brookfield, WI+32F+32104 104 
T40-Patti Ohme [LA]  Appleton, WI+35F+35107 107 
T40-Sylvia Krepski [LA]  McFarland, WI+35F+35107 107 
T42-Lisa Peterson [LA]  Prairie du Chien, WI+36F+36108 108 
T42-Rosalind Gusinow [LA]  Madison, WI+36F+36108 108 
44-Paula Garcia [LA]  Oconomowoc, WI+39F+39111 111 
45-Vivian Moller [LA]  Milwaukee, WI+41F+41113 113 
46-Lisa Bear [LA]  Oconomowoc, WI+49F+49121 121 

More from this Section